SUNWAY UNIVERSITY MINUTES OF ACADEMIC SENATE MEETING

Meeting held on Monday, 27th February 2023 between 3.30pm and 4.30pm at Hall 3, Level 1, Graduate Centre

Prof. Abhi Veerakumarasivam [Chair] Prof. Adarsh Kumar Pandey Prof. Agamutu Pariatamby Prof. Alexandre Rene Schaefer Prof. Alvin Ng Lai Oon Prof. Angela Ampawan	AV AKP AP ARS
Prof. Adarsh Kumar Pandey Prof. Agamutu Pariatamby Prof. Alexandre Rene Schaefer Prof. Alvin Ng Lai Oon	AP ARS
Prof. Agamutu Pariatamby Prof. Alexandre Rene Schaefer Prof. Alvin Ng Lai Oon	ARS
Prof. Alvin Ng Lai Oon	
	AN
i ioi. Aliyela Aliibawali	AA
Prof. Angela Lee Siew Hoong	LSH
Prof. Bradley Carl Freeman	BCF
Prof. Chaiporn Vithessonthi	CV
	CYS
	CYC
	DAB
Prof. Edward Richard Tom Tiekink	ERT
Prof. Elil Renganathan	ER
	GJH
	GMC
	GW
	HG
	HCK
	HHJ
	JR
	KAF
	KA
	LSL
	LCS
	LCH
Prof. Mahendhiran Sanggaran	MSN
Prof. Matthew Marshall	MM
	MUK
	MMD
Prof. Mohamed Kheireddine Aroua	MKA
Prof. Mohammad Khalid	MK
Prof. Motoki Watabe	MW
Prof. Patrick Siau Chi Yin	PSCY
Prof. Pervaiz K. Ahmed	PKA
Prof. Poh Chit Laa	PCL
Prof. Raja Affendi Raja Ali	RA
Prof. Sabine-Salima Chaouche	SSC
Prof. Saidur Rahman	SR
Prof. Santha Vaithilingam	SV
Prof. Satesh Narayana Namasivayam	SNN
Prof. Shandre Mugan Thangavelu	SMT
Prof. Stephen James Hall	SJH
Prof. Susela Devi K. Suppiah	SDS
Prof. Teo Ee Sing	TES
	140751
Prof. Wong Koi Nyen	WKN
Prof. Wong Koi Nyen Prof. Yeah Kim Leng	WKN YKL
	Prof. Cheah You Sum Prof. Datin Dr Chia Yook Chin Prof. David Andrew Bradley Prof. Edward Richard Tom Tiekink Prof. Elil Renganathan Prof. George John Hess Jr Prof. Glenda Mariam Crosling Prof. Graeme Wilkinson Prof. Hew Gill Prof. Ho Chee Kit Prof. Hwang Ha Jin Prof. Jarlath Ronanye Prof. Kenneth Alan Feinstein Prof. Khatijah Abdullah Prof. Lau Sian Lun Prof. Lee Chien Sing Prof. Mahendhiran Sanggaran Nair Prof. Matthew Marshall Prof. Mayeen Uddin Khandaker Prof. Michael M. Dent Prof. Mohammad Kheireddine Aroua Prof. Motoki Watabe Prof. Patrick Siau Chi Yin Prof. Pervaiz K. Ahmed Prof. Poh Chit Laa Prof. Raja Affendi Raja Ali Prof. Sabine-Salima Chaouche Prof. Saidur Rahman Prof. Santha Vaithilingam Prof. Satesh Narayana Namasivayam Prof. Shandre Mugan Thangavelu Prof. Stephen James Hall

	Ex-Officio	
1.	Ng Beng Lean [Secretary]	
2.	Dr Janaki Sinnasamy	JS
۷.	Di Janaki Jinnasamy	30
	By Invitation	
1.	A.P. Dr Adrian Lee Yuen Beng	LYB
2.	A.P. Dr Chew Jactty	CJ
3.	A.P. Dr Kavita Reginald	KR
4.	A.P. Dr Sim Tze Ying	STY
5.	Chairmane Oon	CO
0.	(Undergraduate rep)	
6.	Dr Jane Teh Kimm Lii	JTKL
7.	Dr Khoo Wooi Chen	KWC
8.	Dr Nicholas Lee Boon Kheng	LBK
9.	Dr Pei Jun Woo	WPJ
10.	Siti Fariza Mohd Dahlan	SF
11.	Izah Isa	II
12.	Ke Ying Nyiew (Postgraduate rep.)	KYN
13.	Maslisa Zainuddin	MZ
14.	Chan Lay Guat	CLG
	Absent with Apologies	
1.	Prof. Andrew James Abbott	AJA
2.	Prof. Crispin Nicholas Bates	CNB
3.	Prof. Dato Dr Elizabeth Lee	EL
5.	Prof. Fun Woh Peng	FWP
6.	A.P. Dr Foo Yee Boon	FYB
7.	Prof. Gopalasamy Reuben Clements	GRC
10.	Prof. Tan Sri Dr Jemilah Mahmood	JM
12.	Prof. Kenneth Anthony Cafferkey	KAC
13.	Prof. Lim Weng Marc	LWM
14.	Dr Low Yeh Ching	LYC
15.	Prof. Mohamed Ariff Syed Mohamed	MASM
16.	Prof. Marcus Lee Stephenson	MLS
17.	Prof. Dato' Dr Mazlin Bin Mokhtar	MM
18.	Dr Paul Linus Andrews	PLA
19.	Dr Padma Priya K.R Pillai	PP
20.	Prof. Peh Suat Cheng	PSC
21.	Prof. Sibrandes Poppema	SP
22.	Prof. Teo Kok Lay	TKL
23.	Prof. Jeff Tan Kuan Onn	TKO
24.	Prof. Wong Chin Huat	WCH
25.	Prof. Yap Kian Meng	YKM
	In Attendance	
	Dr Sukhdev Singh	SS
	3	

AS #1 /2023

The meeting commenced with a note of welcome from the Chair.

Item			Action	
1.0	Intro	ductions and Apologies		
	The Chair called the meeting to order and apologised for the miscommunication in one of the emails that indicated the Senate meeting start time as 3.00pm. He also congratulated Ng Beng Lean and team led by Prof. Graeme Wilkinson on the success in the recent convocation ceremonies. The Chair also welcomed Prof. Long Chiau Ming, Prof. Teo Ee Sing and Prof. Tan Sri Dr Noorul Ainur Mohd. Nur to Senate.			
	who l	Chair thanked Prof. Pua Eng Chong and Prof. Mathew Sansom nave left the university for their hard work, dedication and ibutions to Senate.		
	Apologies were noted as in the attendance list.			
2.0	Confirmation of Minutes of the Previous Meeting			
	2.1	The minutes of the last meeting held on 11 th November 2022 were accepted as a correct record.	Info	
3.0	Matters Arising from Previous Minutes			
		Nil		
4.0	Consideration of the Agenda:			
	4.1	The Chair informed Senate that the agenda is divided into 3 sections: Section A for Senate approval, Section B for discussion and Section C for noting. Members may also request for any item to be moved to Section B for a full discussion.	Info	
		There was no request for any item to be moved to Section B for a full discussion.		
5.0	Comments from the Chair:			
	5.1	Some restricted information.	Info	
	Sect	ion A: Recommendations from Steering Committee for Confirm	ation	

	1	CONFIDE	INTIAL
6.0		ge of Centre Name - Centre for Accountability & Governance arch (CAGR) to Centre for Business Resilience Research R)	
	The School will make the necessary amendments.		
7.0	Appointment of External Examiners		
	7.1	Senate approved the appointments.	
8.0	Doctor of Philosophy by Prior Publication Guidelines		
	8.1	Senate approved the proposed guidelines.	
9.0		s of Reference for University Research and Enterprise nittee (UREC)	
	9.1	Senate approved the TOR for UREC.	
10.0	Education Strategic Action Plan 2022 – 2023 - Revisions		
	10.1	Senate approved the revisions.	
		Section B: Matters for Discussion	
11.0	_	rsis of Results of the December 2022 Exam Cycle and oval of Awards Confirmed by Programme Assessment ds	
	Senat	e approved the awards.	
Secti	on C: F	Reports Received for Noting	
12.0	Appro	oval of Awards by Senate Chair's Action	
	12.1	Approved by Senate Chair's action in December 2022 and January 2023.	Info
13.0	Direc	t Entry from Bachelor to PhD	
	13.1	The Chair informed Senate that the Senate Chair had taken Chair's action to approve one direct entry from Bachelor to PhD on 7 December 2022.	Info
		I .	l

14.0		Achievements for Sunway University Research Strategy Plan - 2025	
	14.1	Some restricted information.	Info
15.0	Statu	s of Programme Approval and Accreditation	
	15.1	Some restricted information.	Info
16.0	Academic Senate Sub and Standing Committee Reports received fo		
	16.1	The following Senate Sub and Standing Committee reports were noted: Reports of Award Classifications Confirmed by Programme Assessment Boards (PAB)	Info
		 School of Arts School of Engineering and Technology School of Hospitality and Service Management School of Interdisciplinary Studies School of Mathematical Sciences School of Medical and Life Sciences Sunway Business School 	
	16.2	 School Board of Studies School of Hospitality and Service Management - Meeting held on 5 Sep. 2022 School of Engineering and Technology - Meeting held on 17 Nov. 2022 School of Interdisciplinary Studies – Meeting held on 8 Dec. 2022 Sunway Business School – Meetings held in Nov. and Dec. 2022 	Info
	16.3	Academic Standards and Policy Committee (ASPC)	Info
		- Meeting held on 9 December 2022	
	16.4	Partner and Programme Approval Committee (PPAC)	

CONFIDENTIAL

		- Meeting held on 8 Dec. 2022		
	16.5	University Research Degrees Committee (URDC)		
		- Meeting held on 30 Jan. 2023		
	16.6	University Teaching and Learning Committee (UTLC)	Info	
		Meeting held 3 Feb. 2023		
17.0	Any C	Other Business		
	17.1	Some restricted information.		

The meeting ended at 4.30pm with a note of thanks from the Chair. The next meeting is on 14th April 2023.