## SUNWAY UNIVERSITY MINUTES OF ACADEMIC SENATE MEETING

## Meeting held on Thursday, 16<sup>th</sup> June 2023 between 3.30pm and 4.30pm at Hall 3, Level 1, Graduate Centre

	Members Present	
1.	Prof. Sibrandes Poppema [Chair]	SP
2.	Prof. Abhi Veerakumarasivam	AV
3.	Prof. Adarsh Kumar Pandey	AKP
4.	Prof. Alexandre Rene Schaefer	ARS
5.	Prof. Alvin Ng Lai Oon	AN
6.	Prof. Bradley Carl Freeman	BCF
7.	Prof. Chai Lay Ching	CLC
8.	Prof. Chaiporn Vithessonthi	CV
9.	Prof. Cheah You Sum	CYS
10.	Prof. Chean Fou Sum	
10.		CHN
	Prof. Crispin Nicholas Bates	CNB
12.	Prof. Elil Renganathan	ER
13.	Prof. Graeme Wilkinson	GW
14.	Prof. Ho Chee Kit	HCK
15.	Prof. Hwang Ha Jin	HHJ
16.	Prof. Jarlath Ronanye	JR
17.	Prof. Jeff Tan Kuan Onn	TKO
18.	Prof. Kenneth Alan Feinstein	KAF
19.	Prof. Kenneth Anthony	KAC
19.	Cafferkey	1440
20.	Prof. Khatijah Abdullah	KA
21.	Prof. Lee Chien Sing	LCS
22.	Prof. Lee Chief Sing Prof. Leong Choon Heng	LCH
23.	Prof. Mahendhiran Sanggaran Nair	MSN
24.	Prof. Marcus Lee Stephenson	MLS
25.	Prof. Mayeen Uddin Khandaker	MUK
26.	Prof. Mohamed Kheireddine Aroua	MKA
27.	Prof. Mohammad Khalid	MK
28.	Prof. Motoki Watabe	MW
29.	Prof. Patrick Siau Chi Yin	PSCY
30.	Prof. Peh Suat Cheng	PSC
31.	Prof. Pervaiz K. Ahmed	PKA
32.	Prof. Raja Affendi Raja Ali	RA
33.	Prof. Rebecca Wong Shin Yee	WSY
34.	Prof. Sabine-Salima Chaouche	SSC
35.	Prof. Saidur Rahman	SR
36.	Prof. Stephen James Hall	SJH
37.	Prof. Susela Devi K. Suppiah	SDS
	Prof. Tan Sri Dr Noorul Ainur	
38.	Mohd Nur	NAM
39.	Prof. Wong Chin Huat	WCH
40.	Prof. Wong Koi Nyen	WKN
41.	Prof. Yap Kian Meng	YKM
42.	Prof. Yeah Kim Leng	YKL
43.	Prof. Yuka Fujimoto	YF
44.		
45.		
46.		
	Ex-Officio	
1.	Ng Beng Lean [Secretary]	NBL
2.	Dr Janaki Sinnasamy	JS

	By Invitation	
1.	Prof. Andrew James Abbott	AJA
2.	A.P. Dr Chew Jactty	CJ
3.	Chan Lay Guat	CLG
4.	A.P. Dr Foo Yee Boon	FYB
5.	A.P. Dr Jane Teh Kimm Lii	JTKL
6.	A.P. Dr Kavita Reginald	KR
7.	Dr Khoo Wooi Chen	KWC
8.	Ke Ying Nyiew (Postgraduate	KYN
	rep.)	
9.	Dr Nicholas Lee Boon Kheng	LBK
	Dr Low Yeh Ching	LYC
10.	Siti Fariza Mohd Dahlan	SF
11.		
12.		
	Absent with Apologies	
1.	A.P. Dr Adrian Lee Yuen Beng	LYB
2.	A.P. Dr Sim Tze Ying	STY
3.	Chairmane Oon (Undergrad.	CO
J.	rep)	
4.	A.P. Dr Padma Priya K.R Pillai	PP
5.	Dr Paul Linus Andrews	PLA
6.	Dr Woo Pei Jun	WPJ
7.	Izah Isa	II.
8.	Maslisa Zainuddin	MZ
9.	Prof. Agamutu Pariatamby	AP
10.	Prof. Angela Ampawan	AA
11.	Prof. Angela Ampawan Prof. Angela Lee Siew Hoong	LSH
12.	Prof. Datin Dr Chia Yook Chin	CYC
	Prof. Datin Dr Chia Yook Chin	
13.		EL
14.	Prof. Dato' Dr Mazlin Bin Mokhtar	
15.	Prof. David Andrew Bradley	DAB
16.	Prof. Edward Richard Tom	ERT
	Tiekink	
17.	Prof. Fun Woh Peng	FWP
18.	Prof. Glenda Mariam Crosling	GMC
19.	Prof. Harold Thwaites	HT
20.	Prof. Ir Denny Ng Kok Sum	NKS
21.	Prof. Leong Yuen Yoong	LYY
22.	Prof. Lim Weng Marc	LWM
23.	Prof. Long Chiau Ming	LCM
24.	Prof. Matthew Marshall	MM
25.	Prof. Michael M. Dent	MMD
26.	Prof. Poh Chit Laa	PCL
27.	Prof. Santha Vaithilingam	SV
28.	Prof. Shandre Mugan	SMT
	Thangavelu	
29.	Prof. Tan Sri Dr Jemilah	JM
	Mahmood	
30.	Prof. Teo Ee Sing	TES
31.	Prof. Teo Kok Lay	TKL
	In Attendance	
	Dr Sukhdev Singh	SS
	,	

The meeting commenced with a note of welcome from the Chair.

Item			Action
1.0	Introd	Introductions and Apologies	
	Apologies were noted as in the attendance list.		Info
2.0	Confirmation of Minutes of the Previous Meeting		
	2.1	The minutes of the last meeting held on 27 <sup>th</sup> April 2023 were accepted as a correct record.	Info
3.0	Matters Arising from Previous Minutes		
	3.1	Some restricted information	Info
4.0	Consi	ideration of the Agenda:	
	4.1	The Chair informed Senate that the agenda is divided into 3 sections: Section A for Senate approval, Section B for discussion and Section C for noting. Members may also request for any item to be moved to Section B for a full discussion.	Info
		There was no request for any item to be moved to Section B for a full discussion.	
5.0	Comments from the Chair:		
	5.1	Some restricted information.	Info
	Secti	on A: Recommendations from Steering Committee for Confirm	ation
6.0	Change of Centre Name - Centre for Accountability & Governance Research (CAGR) to Sunway Environmental Social Governance (ESG) Centre		
	6.1	Senate approved the proposed centre name.	
7.0	Proposal for the Establishment of a New Research Entity: Sunway Centre for Electrochemical Energy and Sustainable Technology (SCEEST)		
	7.1	Senate approved the proposed entity.	
8.0	Appo	Appointment and Extension of External Examiners	
	8.1	Senate approved the appointments.	
9.0	Proposal: Academic Calendar 2024 for Diploma and Bachelor's Degree		
	9.1	Senate approved the proposed academic calendar.	
10.0	School	ol of American Education	
		AS #2 /2022	

	10.1	Some restricted information.	Info		
		Section B: Matters for Discussion			
11.0	Approval of Awards Confirmed by Programme Assessment Boards and URDC				
	11.1	Senate approved the awards.			
Secti	on C: F	Reports Received for Noting			
12.0	Transfer from Master's to Doctoral Degree				
	12.1	The transfer that was approved by Senate Chair's action on 22 May 2023 was noted.	Info		
13.0	Appro	oval of Post Internship Awards by Chair's Action			
	13.1	The awards that were approved by Senate Chair's action on 22 May 2023 were noted.	Info		
14.0	Statu	Status of Programme Approval and Accreditation			
	14.1	Some restricted information.	Info		
15.0	Acad	Academic Senate Sub and Standing Committee Reports received for noting:			
	15.1	The following Senate Sub and Standing Committee reports were noted:	Info		
		Reports of Award Classifications Confirmed by Programme			
		Assessment Boards (PAB) Sunway Business School			
	15.2	School Board of Studies Sunway Business School – Meeting held in Apr May 2023 School of Hospitality – Meetings held on 1 Dec. 2022 and 24 Mar. 2023	Info		
	15.3	University Research Degrees Committee (URDC) Meeting held on 30 May 2023			
	15.4	University Teaching and Learning Committee (UTLC) Meeting held on 26 May 2023	Info		
	15.5	Partner and Programme Approval Committee (PPAC) Meeting held on 16 May 2023			
16.0	Any C	Other Business			
10.0	16.1	Some restricted information.	Info		

The meeting ended at 4.30pm with a note of thanks from the Chair. The next meeting is on 22<sup>nd</sup> September 2023.

Minutes confirmed by:			
Chair			
Date: 22 September 2023			

AS #3 /2023 3