## **SUNWAY UNIVERSITY** MINUTES OF ACADEMIC SENATE MEETING

## Meeting held on Thursday, 22<sup>nd</sup> September 2023 between 3.30pm and 4.30pm at Hall 3, Level 1, Graduate Centre

	Members Present	
1.	Prof. Sibrandes Poppema [Chair]	SP
2.	Prof. Abhi Veerakumarasivam	AV
3.	Prof. Adarsh Kumar Pandey	AKP
4.	Prof. Agamutu Pariatamby	AP
5.	Prof. Angela Amphawan	AA
6.	Prof. Angela Lee Siew Hoong	LSH
7.	Prof. Bradley Carl Freeman	BCF
8.	Prof. Chai Lay Ching	CLC
9.	Prof. Cheah You Sum	CYS
10.	Prof. Chua Hui Na	CHN
11.	Prof. Dato Dr Elizabeth Lee	EL
12.	Prof. David Andrew Bradley	DAB
13.	Prof. Elil Renganathan	ER
14.	Prof. Fun Woh Peng	FWP
15.	Prof. Glenda Mariam Crosling	GMC
16.		
	Prof. Us Chan Kit	GW
17.	Prof. Ho Chee Kit	HCK
18.	Prof. Hwang Ha Jin	HHJ
19.	Prof. Ir Denny Ng Kok Sum	NKS
20.	Prof. Jarlath Ronayne	JR
21.	Prof. Khatijah Abdullah	KA
22.	Prof. Lee Chien Sing	LCS
23.	Prof. Lee Learn Han	LLH
24.	Prof. Leong Choon Heng	LCH
25.	Prof. Lim Weng Marc	LWM
26.	Prof. M A Hannan	MAH
27.	Prof. Mahendhiran Sanggaran Nair	MSN
28.	Prof. Marcus Lee Stephenson	MLS
29.	Prof. Matthew Marshall	MM
30.	Prof. Mohamed Kheireddine Aroua	MKA
31.	Prof. Ong Hwai Chyuan	OHC
32.	Prof. Peh Suat Cheng	PSC
33.	Prof. Pervaiz K. Ahmed	PKA
34.	Prof. Raja Affendi Raja Ali	RA
35.	Prof. Rebecca Wong Shin Yee	WSY
36.	Prof. Saidur Rahman	SR
37.	Prof. Santha Vaithilingam	SV
38.	Prof. Shandre Mugan Thangavelu	SMT
39.	Prof. Wong Chin Huat	WCH
40.	Prof. Wong Koi Nyen	WKN
41.	Prof. Yeah Kim Leng	YKL
42.	Prof. Yuka Fujimoto	YF
43.	1 101. Tuka Fujiilloto	11
44.		
44. 45.		
40.	Ev Officio	
1	Ex-Officio	NDI
1.	Ng Beng Lean [Secretary]	NBL
2.	Dr Janaki Sinnasamy	JS
4	By Invitation	0:
1.	A.P. Dr Chew Jactty	CJ
2.	Chan Lay Guat A.P. Dr Foo Yee Boon	CLG
3.		FYB

4.	A.P. Dr Jane Teh Kimm Lii	JTKL
5.	A.P. Dr Kavita Reginald	KR
6.	A.P. Dr Padma Priya K.R Pillai	PP
7.	Dr Nicholas Lee Boon Kheng	LBK
8.	A.P. Dr Adrian Lee Yuen Beng	LYB
9.	A.P. Dr Sim Tze Ying	STY
10.	Dr Paul Linus Andrews	PLA
11.	Dr Low Yeh Ching	LYC
12.	Dr Woo Pei Jun	WPJ
13.	Maslisa Zainuddin	MZ
14.	Siti Fariza Mohd Dahlan	SF
15.	Ke Ying Nyiew (President,	KYN
	Postgraduate SC.)	
16.	Aaron Shua Zhong Zhe (President, Undergraduate SC)	SZZ
17.		
18.		
	Absent with Apologies	
1.	Prof. Andrew James Abbott	AJA
2.	Prof. Alvin Ng Lai Oon	AN
3.	Prof. Alexandre Rene Schaefer	ARS
4.	Prof. Crispin Nicholas Bates	CNB
5.	Prof. Datin Dr Chia Yook Chin	CYC
7.	Prof. Goh Bey Hing	GBH
8.	Prof. Harold Thwaites	HT
		ll ll
9.	Izah Isa	
10.	Prof. Tan Sri Dr Jemilah Mahmood	JM
11.	Prof. Kenneth Anthony Cafferkey	KAC
12.	Prof. Kenneth Alan Feinstein	KAF
13.	Dr Khoo Wooi Chen	KWC
14.	Prof. Leong Yuen Yoong	LYY
15.	Prof. Long Chiau Ming	LCM
16.	Prof. Lau Sian Lun	LSL
17.	Prof. Mohammad Khalid	MK
18.	Prof. Dato' Dr Mazlin Bin	MM
	Mokhtar	
19.	Prof. Mayeen Uddin Khandaker	MUK
20.	Prof. Motoki Watabe	MW
21.	Prof. Patrick Siau Chi Yin	PSCY
22.	Prof. Susela Devi K. Suppiah	SDS
23.	Prof. Sabine-Salima Chaouche	SSC
24.	Prof. Tan Sri Dr Noorul Ainur Mohd Nur	NAM
25.	Prof. Teo Ee Sing	TES
26.	Prof. Teo Kok Lay	TKL
27.	Prof. Yap Kian Meng	YKM
28.	Troi. Tap Mail Melly	I (XIVI
20. 29.		
30.	In Attendance	
	In Attendance	CC
	Dr Sukhdev Singh	SS

The meeting commenced with a note of welcome from the Chair.

ltem			Action
1.0	Intro	ductions and Apologies	
	The	Chair welcomed new members:	Info
	Apole	ogies were noted as in the attendance list.	
2.0	Conf	firmation of Minutes of the Previous Meeting	
	2.1	The minutes of the last meeting held on 16 <sup>th</sup> June 2023 were accepted as a correct record with a correction to item14. Board of Nursing with respect to Master of Counselling programme was corrected to the Board of Counselling.	Info
3.0	Matt	ers Arising from Previous Minutes	
	3.1	Nil	
4.0	Cons	sideration of the Agenda:	
	4.1	The Chair informed Senate that the agenda is divided into 3 sections: Section A for Senate approval, Section B for discussion and Section C for noting. Members may also request for any item to be moved to Section B for a full discussion.	Info
		There was no request for any item to be moved to Section B for a full discussion.	
5.0	Com	ments from the Chair:	
	5.1	Some restricted information.	Info
	Sect	tion A: Recommendations from Steering Committee for Confirmat	ion
6.0		aming of the Research Centre for Crystalline Materials to Sunway unctional Molecules Discovery Centre	
	6.1	Senate approved the proposed centre name.	
7.0	l l	aming of the Centre for Virus and Vaccine Research to Sunway obiome Centre	
	7.1	Senate approved the proposed centre name.	
8.0	l l	aming of the Department of Allied Healthcare to Department of ical Education	
	8.1	Senate approved the appointments.	
9.0	The	Establishment of the School of Education	

CONFIDENTIAL

	lo 4	CONFIDEN	IIAL
	9.1	Senate approved the proposed establishment of the School of Education.	
10.0		olution of the School of Interdisciplinary Studies (and General es Department)	
	10.1	Senate approved the proposed dissolution.	
11.0	Exter	nal Examiner Appointments and Extensions	
	11.1	Senate approved the appointments.	
		Section B: Matters for Discussion	
12.0	_	ysis of Results of the July 2023 Exam Cycle and Approval of ds Confirmed by Programme Assessment Boards	
	12.1	Some restricted information.	
Secti	on C: I	Reports Received for Noting	
13.0	Exter	nal Examiner Extension	
	13.1	Some restricted information.	Info
14.0	Eligik	bility for Research Degree Supervision	
	14.1	The proposal that was approved by Senate Chair's action on 26 June 2023 was noted and endorsed.	Info
15.0	Less than 50,000 words limits for Doctor of Philosophy in Mathematical Sciences Thesis		
	15.1	The proposal that was approved by Senate Chair's action on 21 August 2023 was noted and endorsed.	
16.0	Direc	t Entry from Bachelor to PhD	
	16.1	The direct entry from Bachelor to PhD approved by Senate Chair's action on 21 August 2023 was noted and endorsed.	
17.0	Appr	oval for Recommendation of Award for PGR students	
	17.1	The awards approved by Senate Chair's action on 21 August 2023 were noted and endorsed.	
18.0	Spec	ial Admission for Doctor of Philosophy in Medical Science	
	18.1	The special admission approved by Senate Chair's action on 21 August 2023 was noted and endorsed.	
19.0	Statu	s of Programme Approval and Accreditation	

CONFIDENTIAL

	19.1	NBL informed Senate that GCLU is following up with MQA on the programmes that have yet to receive their approvals. Approval letters for the programmes that have been approved have been circulated to the schools.	Info	
20.0	Academic Senate Sub and Standing Committee Reports received for noting:			
	20.4	The following Senate Sub and Standing Committee reports were noted:  Reports of Award Classifications Confirmed by Programme	Info	
	20.1			
		<ul> <li>School of Arts</li> <li>Sunway Business School</li> <li>School of Engineering and Technology</li> <li>School of Hospitality and Service Management</li> <li>School of Interdisciplinary Studies</li> <li>School of Mathematical Sciences</li> <li>School of Medical and Life Sciences</li> </ul>		
	20.2	<ul> <li>School Board of Studies</li> <li>Sunway Business School – Meeting held in Jun./Aug. 2023</li> <li>School of Engineering and Technology – Meeting held on 14 Jul. 2023</li> <li>School of Hospitality and Service Management – Meeting held on 2 May 2023</li> <li>School of Interdisciplinary Studies - Meeting held on 22 Jun. 2023</li> </ul>	Info	
	20.3	University Research Degrees Committee (URDC) - Meeting held on 30 Jun. & 8 Sep. 2023		
	20.4	University Teaching and Learning Committee (UTLC) Meeting held on 25 August 2023	Info	
	20.5	<u>Library Committee</u> Meeting held on 15 August 2023	Info	
21.0	Any Other Business			
	21.1	Some restricted information.	Info	

The meeting ended at 4.30pm with a note of thanks from the Chair. The next meeting is scheduled on 24<sup>th</sup> November 2023.

Minutes confirmed by:
Chair
Date: 24 November