## SUNWAY UNIVERSITY MINUTES OF ACADEMIC SENATE MEETING

## Meeting held on Thursday, 24<sup>th</sup> November 2023 between 3.30pm and 4.30pm at Hall 3, Level 1, Graduate Centre

	Members Present	
1.	Prof. Sibrandes Poppema [Chair]	SP
2.	Prof. Abhi Veerakumarasivam	AV
4.	Prof. Agamutu Pariatamby	AP
5.	Prof. Angela Amphawan	AA
7.	Prof. Bradley Carl Freeman	BCF
8.	Prof. Chai Lay Ching	CLC
10.	Prof. Chua Hui Na	CHN
12.	Prof. David Andrew Bradley	DAB
13.	Prof. Elil Renganathan	ER
14.	Prof. Patrick Siau Chi Yin	PSCY
15.	Prof. Leong Yuen Yoong	LYY
16.	Prof. Graeme Wilkinson	GW
17.	Prof. Ho Chee Kit	HCK
18.	Prof. Susela Devi K. Suppiah	SDS
19.	Prof. Mayeen Uddin Khandaker	MUK
20.	Prof. Jarlath Ronayne	JR
21.	Prof. Khatijah Abdullah	KA
22.	Prof. Lee Chien Sing	LCS
23.	Prof. Lee Learn Han	LLH
24.	Prof. Leong Choon Heng	LCH
25.	Prof. Lim Weng Marc	LWM
26.	Prof. M A Hannan	MAH
27.	Prof. Mahendhiran Sanggaran Nair	MSN
28.	Prof. Goh Bey Hing	GBH
29.	Prof. Mohamed Kheireddine Aroua	MKA
30.	Prof. Ong Hwai Chyuan	OHC
31.	Prof. Peh Suat Cheng	PSC
32.	Prof. Pervaiz K. Ahmed	PKA
33.	Prof. Raja Affendi Raja Ali	RA
34.	Prof. Rebecca Wong Shin Yee	WSY
35.	Prof. Kenneth Anthony Cafferkey	KAC
36.	Prof. Santha Vaithilingam	SV
37.	Prof. Lau Sian Lun	LSL
38.	Prof. Wong Chin Huat	WCH
39.	Prof. Wong Koi Nyen	WKN
40.	Prof. Yeah Kim Leng	YKL
41.	Prof. Datin Dr Chia Yook Chin	CYC
42.	Prof. Yap Kian Meng	YKM
43.	Prof. Mohammad Khalid	MK
44.		
45.		
	Ex-Officio	
1.	Ng Beng Lean [Secretary]	NBL
2.	Dr Janaki Sinnasamy	JS
	By Invitation	
1.	A.P. Dr Adrian Lee Yuen Beng	LYB
2.	A.P. Dr Chew Jactty	CJ
3.	A.P. Dr Foo Yee Boon	FYB
4.	A.P. Dr Jane Teh Kimm Lii	JTKL
••		• · · · ·

5.	A.P. Dr Kavita Reginald	KR
6.	A.P. Dr Malissa Maria Mahmud	MMM
7.	A.P. Dr Sim Tze Ying	STY
8.	Chan Lay Guat	CLG
9.	Dr Nicholas Lee Boon Kheng	LBK
10.	Dr Woo Pei Jun	WPJ
11.	Izah Isa	I
12.	Prof. Andrew James Abbott	AJA
13.	Siti Fariza Mohd Dahlan	SF
13.	Aaron Shua Zhong Zhe	SZZ
14.	(President, Undergraduate SC)	SZZ
	Absent with Apologies	
1.	Prof. Fun Woh Peng	FWP
2.	Prof. Alvin Ng Lai Oon	AN
3.	Prof. Alexandre Rene Schaefer	ARS
4.	Prof. Crispin Nicholas Bates	CNB
	·	
5.	Prof. Cheah You Sum	CYS
7.	Prof. Dato' Dr Elizabeth Lee	EL
8.	Prof. Harold Thwaites	HT
9.	Prof. Saidur Rahman	SR
10.	Prof. Tan Sri Dr Jemilah	JM
	Mahmood	
11.	Dr Low Yeh Ching	LYC
12.	Prof. Kenneth Alan Feinstein	KAF
13.	Dr Khoo Wooi Chen	KWC
15.	Prof. Long Chiau Ming	LCM
16.	A.P. Dr Padma Priya K.R Pillai	PP
17.	Prof. Dato' Dr Mazlin Bin	MM
17.	Mokhtar	IVIIVI
18.	Prof. Glenda Mariam Crosling	GMC
10.	Prof. Motoki Watabe	MW
20.	Prof. Marcus Lee Stephenson	MLS
20.	•	
	Dr Paul Linus Andrews	PLA
22.	Prof. Matthew Marshall	MM
23.	Prof. Yuka Fujimoto	YF
24.	Prof. Sabine-Salima Chaouche	SSC
25.	Prof. Tan Sri Dr Noorul Ainur Mohd Nur	NAM
26.	Prof. Teo Ee Sing	TES
27.	Prof. Teo Kok Lay	TKL
28.	Prof. Shandre Mugan Thangavelu	SMT
29.	Prof. Adarsh Kumar Pandey	AKP
30.	Prof. Angela Lee Siew Hoong	LSH
31.	Prof. Hwang Ha Jin	HHJ
32.	Prof. Ir Denny Ng Kok Sum	NKS
33.	Ke Ying Nyiew (President, Postgraduate SC.)	KYN
34.	Maslisa Zainuddin	MZ
35.	Prof. Datuk Woo Wing Thye	WWT
30.	TIOI. Datuk WOO WING THE	VVVV I
	In Attendance	
	Dr Sukhdev Singh	SS

The meeting commenced with a note of welcome from the Chair.

			Action	
1.0	Introductions and Apologies			
	Apologies were noted as in the attendance list.			
2.0	Confirmation of Minutes of the Previous Meeting			
		The minutes of the last meeting held on 22 <sup>nd</sup> June 2023 were accepted as a correct record.	Info	
3.0	Matters Arising from Previous Minutes			
	3.1	Nil		
4.0	Con	Consideration of the Agenda:		
	4.1	The Chair informed the Senate that the agenda is divided into 3 sections: Section A for Senate approval, Section B for discussion and Section C for noting. Members may also request for any item to be moved to Section B for a full discussion.	Info	
		There was no request for any item to be moved to Section B for a full discussion.		
5.0	Comments from the Chair:			
	5.1	Some restricted information.	Info	
Section	on A: R	ecommendations from Steering Committee for Confirmation		
~ ~	-			
6.0	Trar	sfer of Entity		
6.0	<b>Tran</b> 6.1		Info	
		isfer of Entity	Info	
		Appointment and Extension of Appointment of External	Info	
7.0	6.1	Appointment and Extension of Appointment of External Examiners		
7.0	6.1	Appointment and Extension of Appointment of External Examiners Senate approved the appointments.		
7.0	6.1         7.1	Appointment and Extension of Appointment of External Examiners Senate approved the appointments. Establishment of Academic Entity – Proposal	Info	
7.0	6.1 7.1 8.1	Appointment and Extension of Appointment of External Examiners Senate approved the appointments. Establishment of Academic Entity – Proposal Senate approved the establishment of the entity.	Info	
6.0 7.0 8.0 9.0	6.1 7.1 8.1	Appointment and Extension of Appointment of External Examiners Senate approved the appointments. Establishment of Academic Entity – Proposal Senate approved the establishment of the entity. Section B: Matters for Discussion roval of Awards Confirmed by Programme Assessment	Info	

	17.1	Some restricted information.	nno	
	14.1	Announcement:	Info	
14.0	Any Other Business			
	13.3	University Research Degrees Committee (URDC) Meeting held on 30 May 2023		
	13.2	<ul> <li>School Board of Studies</li> <li>Sunway Business School – Meetings held in Sep Nov. 2023</li> <li>School of Hospitality and Service Management – Meeting held on 11 Aug. 2023</li> <li>School of Medical and Life Sciences – Meeting held on 20 Jun. 2023</li> </ul>		
	13.1	Reports of Award Classifications Confirmed by Programme         Assessment Boards (PAB)         -       Sunway Business School         -       School of Engineering and Technology         -       School of Hospitality and Service Management		
13.0	Academic Senate Sub and Standing Committee Reports			
	12.1	MSN informed Senate that there were 2 candidates who were eligible for direct entry to the Doctor of Philosophy Programmes. These were approved by Chair's action on 19 October 2023. One was for the Doctor of Philosophy in Medical Sciences and the other for Doctor of Philosophy in Computing.		
12.0	Direc	t Entry from Bachelor to PhD		
	11.1	Some restricted information.	Info	
11.0	.0 Status of Programme Approval and Accreditation			
		Section C: Reports Received for Noting		
		Senate approved the proposed meeting dates.		
		informed members that Senate meetings are normally held on a Friday. However, the first meeting is scheduled on Monday 4 March 2024 because session 4 of the February 2024 convocation will be held on 1 March. Likewise, the agenda item submission date for the second meeting will be Monday 15 April because of Hari Raya which falls on 10 and 11 April.		
	10.1	NBL presented the proposed Senate meeting dates for 2024 and		

The meeting ended at 4.30pm with a note of thanks from the Chair. The next meeting is scheduled for  $4^{th}$  March 2024.

Minutes confirmed by:

.....

Chair

Date