SUNWAY UNIVERSITY MINUTES OF ACADEMIC SENATE MEETING

Meeting held on Friday, 17th June 2022 between 3.00pm and 4.00pm at Hall 3, Level 1, Graduate Centre

Present:			
Prof. Graeme Wilkinson [Chair]	GW	Prof. Sabine-Salima Chaouche	SSC
Prof. Graeme Wilkinson [Chair]	GVV SP		SR
Prof. Sibrandes Poppema		Prof. Saidur Rahman	
Ng Beng Lean [Secretary]	NBL	Prof. Santha Vaithilingam	SV
Prof. Abhi Veerakumarasivam	AV	Prof. Serge Demidenko	SD
Prof. Adarsh Kumar Pandey	AKP	Prof. Shandre Mugan Thangavelu	SMT
Prof. Alexandre Schaefer	AS	Prof. Susela Devi K.Suppiah	SDS
Prof. Alvin Ng Lai Oon	AN	Prof. Stephen Hall	SH
Prof. Angela Amphawan	AA	Prof. Steve Williams	SW
Prof. Angela Lee Siew Hoong	ALSH	Prof. Wong Koi Nyen	WKN
Prof. Bradley Carl Freeman	BCF	Prof. Yap Kian Meng	YKM
Prof. Chaiporn Vithessonthi	CV	Prof. Yeah Kim Leng	YKL
Prof. Cheah You Sum	CYS	Prof. Yuka Fujimoto	YF
Prof. Dr Chia Yook Chin	CYC		
Prof. Crispin Nicholas Bates	CNB	By Invitation:	
Prof. Dato' Dr Woo Wing Thye	WWT	Assoc. Prof. Dr. Sim Tze Ying	STY
Prof. Edward Tiekink	ET	Chan Lay Guat	CLG
Prof. Datin Dr Chia Yook Chin	CYC	Assoc. Prof. Dr Kavita Reginald	KR
Prof. David Bradley	DB	Dr Adrian Lee Yuen Beng	LYB
Prof. Elizabeth Lee	EL	Dr Padma Priya K.R. Pillai	DPP
Prof. George John Hess Jr	GJH	Dr Paul Linus Andrews	PLA
Prof. Glenda Marian Crosling	GMC	Dr Khoo Wooi Chen	KWC
Prof. Gopalasamy Rueben Clements	GRC	Prof. Andrew James Abbott	AJA
Prof. Hew Gill	HG	Siti Fariza Mohd Dahlan	SF
Prof. Ho Chee Kit	HCK	Izah Isa	II
Prof. Hwang Ha Jin	HHJ	Jynn Kok E-Lynn (student rep.)	KEL
Prof. Jarlath Ronayne	JR	Perrez Olycen A.Oyato (postgrad. rep.)	POAO
Prof. Jeff Tan Kuan Onn	JTKO		
Prof. Khatijah Abdullah	KA	Abcont with analogica	
Prof. Lau Sian Lun	LSL	Absent with apologies: Dr Jane Teh Kimm Lii	TKL
Prof. Leong Choon Heng	LCH		
Prof. Mahendhiran Sanggaran Nair	MSN	Dr Low Yeh Ching	LYC WPJ
Prof. Marcus Lee Stephenson	MLS	Dr Woo Pei Jun	MZ
Prof. Matthew James Sansom	MJS	Maslisa Zainuddin	WCH
Prof. Matthew Marshall	MM	Prof Wong Chin Huat	
Prof. Mayeen Uddin Khandaker	MUK	Prof. Crispin Nicholas Bates	CNB
Prof. Michael M. Dent	MMD	Prof. Kenneth Anthony Coffeelog	KAF
Prof. Mohamed Ariff Syed Mohamed	MASM	Prof. Kenneth Anthony Cafferkey	KAC
Prof. Mohammad Khalid	MK	Prof. Lee Chien Sing Prof. Muslim Amin	LCS MA
Prof. Mohammed Kheireddine Aroua	MKA		PEC
Prof. Motoki Watabe	MW	Prof. Pua Eng Chong	
Prof. Muslim Amin	MA	Prof. Tan Sri Dr Jemilah Mahmood	JM
Prof. Patrick Siau Chi Yin	SCY	Prof. Ten Kek Ley	TPL
Prof. Perry Hobson	JPH	Prof. Teo Kok Lay	TKL
Prof. Pervaiz K Ahmed	PKA	In attendance.	
Prof. Peh Suat Cheng	PSC	In attendance:	cc
Prof. Poh Chit Laa	PCL	Dr Sukhdev Singh	SS
Prof. Raymond McNamara	RM		

AS #3 /2022 1

The meeting commenced with a note of welcome from the Chair.

Item			Action		
1.0	Intro	Introductions and Apologies			
	Apolo	gies were noted as above.	Info		
2.0	Confi	Confirmation of Minutes of the Previous Meeting			
		The minutes of the last meeting held on 15 th April 2022 were accepted as a correct record.	Info		
3.0	Matte	ers Arising from Previous Minutes			
		There were no matters arising.			
4.0	Cons	Consideration of the Agenda:			
	4.1	The Chair informed Senate that the agenda is divided into 3 sections: Section A for Senate approval, Section B for discussion and Section C for noting. Members may also request for any item to be moved to Section B for a full discussion.	Info		
		There was no request for any item to be moved Section B for a full discussion.			
5.0	Comr	Comments from the Chair:			
	5.1	Some restricted information	Info		
	Secti	ion A: Recommendations from Steering Committee for Con	firmation		
6.0	Appli	cations for Direct Entry from Bachelor to PhD			
		Senate endorsed the recommendation.			
7.0	Appo	Appointment of External Examiners			
		Senate approved the above appointments.			
8.0	Education Strategy 2022 – 2025 and Education Strategic Action Plan 2022 - 2023				
		Senate endorsed the recommendations for the awards.			
		Section B: Matters for Discussion			
9.0		oval of Postgraduate Awards and Update of Awards from larch 2022 Exam Cycle			
		Senate ratified the awards.			

	CONFIDENTIAL					
Secti	Section C: Reports Received for Noting					
10.0	Statu	s of Programme Approval and Accreditation				
		The updates were presented for noting.	Info			
11.0	Acad	d for noting:				
		The following Senate Sub and Standing Committee reports were noted:	Info			
	11.1	Reports of Award Classifications Confirmed by Programme Assessment Boards (PAB)				
		 School of Arts School of Engineering and Technology School of Medical and Life Sciences Sunway University Business School School of Interdisciplinary Studies 				
	11.2	School Board of Studies - Sunway University Business School – Meetings held in April and May 2022				
	11.5	University Research Degrees Committee (URDC): meeting held on 24 March 2022 and via circulation on 26 May 2022				
	11.6	University Teaching and Learning Committee (UTLC): meeting held on 27 May 2022				
12.0	Any (Other Business				
	12.1	Academic calendar 2023 Senate approved the 2023 Academic Calendar.				

The meeting ended at 4.00pm with a note of thanks from the Chair. The next meeting is on 17th June 2022.