Governance and Leadership

Sunway University is one of Malaysia’s leading not-for-profit private universities owned and governed by the Jeffrey Cheah Foundation, which is overseen by an eminent Board of Trustees. 

The University is governed by the Board of Directors comprising senior industrialists, academics, educationists and former civil servants. The chairman of the Board is Tan Sri Dato’ Seri Dr Jeffrey Cheah AO, the founder and chairman of the Sunway Group of companies. He is also the Chancellor of Sunway University. The Chancellor is the figurehead of the University whose duties are primarily ceremonial. He is supported in his ceremonial duties by three Pro-Chancellors who are also Board members. 


The Board of Directors

The Board of Directors has the overall responsibility for setting the strategic direction of the University and appointing the President and Chief Executive, and other Senior Officers of the University. The Board also oversees the effective financial management of the University and has a key role to play in the selection of individuals for honorary degrees, among other high-level responsibilities. 

Please click for the Chancellor’s Welcome Message.


Members of the Board of Directors 

Tan Sri Dato' Seri Dr Jeffrey Cheah, AO       
Founder and Chairman, Sunway Group 

Tan Sri Dato' (Dr) Chew Chee Kin       
President, Sunway Group

Dato' Professor Dr Elizabeth Lee      
Chief Executive Officer, Sunway Education Group

Professor Jarlath Ronayne, AM      
Tan Sri Jeffrey Cheah Distinguished Professor


Professor Tan Sri Dato’ Dr Lin See Yan         
Former Deputy Governor, Bank Negara Malaysia

Tan Sri Datuk Seri Razman Hashim     
Deputy Chairman, Sunway Group

Professor Sibrandes Poppema     

Sarena Cheah Yean Tih     
Executive Director, Sunway Group


Dato' Sri Idris Jala     
Pro-Chancellor  >President and CEO, Pemandu Associates Sdn Bhd

Dato' Dr Lee Weng Keng   
CEO, Education and Healthcare, Sunway Group

Professor Graeme Wilkinson 
Tan Sri Jeffrey Cheah Distinguished Professor and Adviser to the President

Philip Yeo Liat Kok   
Chairman of Economic Development Innovations Singapore, and Accuron Technologies


Academic Senate

The academic governance of the University is through the Senate. The role of the Senate includes inter alia oversight of academic quality and the integrity of Sunway University academic awards. The Senate membership is comprised of full professors, academic heads of department, senior academic managers, the registrar, central university administrators and student representatives who are elected by the student body, annually. The Senate meets five times a year and is chaired by the President. The powers of the Board and the Senate are described in the University’s constitution. 

Please click for Senate Meeting Minutes. 


University Strategic Management Committee

The University is managed by the University Strategic Management Committee which is made up of the University’s Senior Management Team comprising the President, the Provost, the Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research Engagement and Impact), the Pro Vice-Chancellor (Education), the Deans of Schools, the Director of Strategy and Planning and the Director of University Services. As well as all the heads of Support Services of the Sunway Education Group. Together, the committee supports delivering the University’s mission. 

Please click for the President's Welcoming Address


Members of the University Strategic Management Committee 

Professor Sibrandes Poppema (Chair)       
President, Sunway University  

Professor Mahendhiran Sanggaran Nair       
Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research Engagement and Impact) 

Professor Dato’ Dr Elizabeth Lee (Alternate Chair)       
Chief Executive Officer, Sunway Education Group  

Professor Chai Lay Ching       
Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Education) 

Professor Abhimanyu Veerakumarasivam       

Professor Ho Chee Kit       
Dean, School of Mathematical Sciences 

Professor Ir Denny K S Ng       
Dean, School of Engineering and Technology 

Professor Matthew Marshall       
Dean, School of Arts 

Assoc. Prof. Dr Malissa Maria Mahmud       
Dean, School of Education 

Ms Betty Lai          
Chief Resources Officer

Mr Lucas Tong       
Deputy Chief Financial Officer


Mr Patrick Joseph McVeigh        
Director - Branding and Corporate Communications 

Professor Lim Weng Marc       
Dean, Sunway Business School 

Professor Raja Affendi Raja Ali       
Dean, School of Medical and Life Sciences 


Ms Lee Siok Ping        
Director - Student Life 


Mr Ng Kok Cheng

Chief Financial Officer 

Ms Preeti Nair 

Director – Strategy and Planning

Professor Marcus Lee Stephenson       
Dean, School of Hospitality and Service Management 

Associate Professor Sim Tze Ying       
Dean, School of American Education 

Ms Lim Shui Chin         
Director - International Office and Special Projects 

Ms Ng Beng Lean       
Group Registrar


Ms Siti Fariza Mohd Dahlan       
Director – University Services

Mr Tony Lee        
Chief Information Officer


Ms Wong Lei Lei        
Director - Marketing and Customer Experience